Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Eating like a grown up

3 Comments

So, I have to admit — I’m not a very good grown up.  What I mean by that is mostly that I’m not good at feeding myself.  Between having an internship, going to school, doing homework, trying to get to the gym once in a while, and trying to occasionally have a social life, there is no time for dinner.  Sometimes I scroll through my Facebook and am genuinely amazed at people who have kids or even pets and manage to feed them nutritious food on a regular basis, let alone themselves.

I wish that I was one of those people who could say that they love cooking, and it relaxes them after a long day and blah blah blah.  Apparently, I’m not one of those people.  I hope to one day become one of those people, like when I have a kitchen that I can’t stand in a reach my arms out and touch both wall, or that has at least 2 sq. ft. of actual counter space, and when I don’t have to lug bags of groceries 5 blocks and up 2 flights of stairs every week.

But in the meantime I’m going to make an effort to cook a little more, and a little better.  Starting with some of these easy recipes:

Pad Thai – I usually stay away from homemade pad thai recipes because of the number of ingredients that they require, but this one looks like I already have most of the stuff!

Vegetable Pad Thai

One pot pasta, all day everyday.

One Pot Pasta Primavera

Homemade pizza is another weekly staple for me, any one of these 50 options would help to mix it up a bit.

If I can find the ingredients, I would love to try cooking Indian.

 Image: ShutterstockI’ve made something similar to this Mexican dish using rice, but I love quinoa also.  I also love anything that can be made entirely in one pan.

One Pan Mexican Quinoa - Wonderfully light, healthy and nutritious. And it's so easy to make - even the quinoa is cooked right in the pan!

Happy cooking!

3 thoughts on “Eating like a grown up

  1. I like quiche for dinner. I make it on Sunday night and slice it into portions. Then all I have to do is grab a slice, reheat and do a salad! When I have more time, I do enjoy cooking…but I hate washing up! One pot meals are always a winner for me too.

    • Quiche is a great idea! Sometimes I’ll make an omelet because it’s pretty easy, but I like the idea of just reheating something even more!

  2. Totally understand the lack of time, and occasionally inclination, to cook. Sometimes, I’m totally on cooking great food, and, other times, it’s all about the bad of microwaveable popcorn!

Be Honest!

