Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Spring Time Challenge

Leave a comment

Well, I decided to challenge myself.  Recently, I have no idea why, I feel as though I really have been eating terribly. It seems as though the cold and awful weather puts me into something of a rut.  In order to drag myself out of said rut, I figured I should change my eating habits.  How, you may ask?  A few weeks ago, I started talking to a friend, one that I haven’t seen or heard from in years, by chance on Facebook.  We started reminiscing, like anyone would do, if substantial time has gone by, and we somehow started talking about trying to live a healthier lifestyle.  Enter the 21 Day Fix program.  IMG_5909

What is the 21 Day Fix?  If you haven’t already heard of it, I will give you the information that I have learned by researching it a bit.  I am sure by now you are all thinking “Ugh.  Diet.  No thank you!”  The 21 Day Fix by Autumn Calabrese of Beachbody (P90 [x], Insanity, Brazil Butt Lift, etc.) is not really a “diet” per say rather, a color coded container system designed to teach the individuals perfect portion control with little room for error. Basically anything that fits in the containers, you can put in your belly.

In order to determine how many containers you are allowed per day, you are given a chart that looks like this:
calorie level
This then allows you to follow this simple chart for container breakdowns: (Less than 1200 round up, greater than 2300 round down)  I am following the 1200-1499 plan.
daily intake
If you purchase the whole program, it also includes  Shakeology , a protein shake supplement which, I knew that I did not want, and a workout regimen.  Proteins in the past have wreaked havoc on my poor stomach, so I am buying a plant based protein instead and I already go to the gym and take classes.  Needless to say, the program could be expensive.  However, you can purchase the containers on Amazon for around $25.00, which is what I did, then look up the many available pre-planned meals as ideas!  This is a great opportunity to get creative with food.  Here is a 21 Day Fix Week1 (1) chart that I made for week 1.  Even if I don’t follow the meals exactly, at least I have an idea as to what I will be eating and how much I am allowed.
It seems simple enough and I am definitely ready for a new challenge. The program allows for coffee and tea at no container cost from my understanding.  It also allows for an extra green container if you are extremely hungry one day, because let’s face it, I really don’t think you can ever overeat vegetables. I believe it recommends working out at least 3 times a week, which is something that I already do religiously.  I know it seems like a lot, and I wonder what in the hell I got myself into.  Then when I start thinking about it, I realize it is only 21 days.  3 weeks.  I can do that!  Not to mention if I start on Sunday (I need to get paid because …poor.  Poor=no food)  I will be done by Easter!  Plus, summer is right around the corner after all.
What do you guys think?  My plan is to keep you updated each week for as long as I do the program.  This way, if anyone is interested in trying the Fix you will have an idea as to how it works and any type of difficulties that may arise. Has anyone done the 21 Day Fix?  If you have please share any recipes or info that would be helpful.  Even if you don’t plan on starting it or haven’t ever done it, the motivational support would be awesome!  Can’t wait to see how this works!
Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

